Where can you start?

Living waste free is defiantly a new lifestyle and a huge commitment. If you really start looking at the things you use, you can see how much plastic and waste we leave behind. It can seem overwhelming, so where can you start?

  1. Straws- start asking for no straw when you order a drink at a bar, coffee shops, and restaurants. If the straw is brought to the table and you don’t use they have to throw it away. (Because they dont know if you have droped it on the ground, spilled something on it, or whatever) Paper straws are cool because they can be recycled but I’m not sure if anyone actually recycles them. I am not a fan of paper straws. Just carry your own straw. I like glass straws and metal straws. You can order straws on amazon and they usually come in a 5 pack. My auntie (shoutout to Mariah Tanner) for supporting my cause and getting me some cute class straws.
  2. Coffee mug, smoothie cup, water bottle- I’m sure everybody has one of these that you always forget at home. But the togo cups that you are getting your beverage in, can not be recycled, they have a wax lining to prevent the drink from leaking through. So they just end up in trash, which what we are trying to avoid here.
  3. Take out food- this one is hard too. Take out is so freaking convientent, but it’s the most trash. There is usually a wax paper you food is wrapped in, foil, plastic, or a box, napkins, utensils, and a bag. ALL that can’t be recycled! So.etimes a restaurant will pack your food in your own container.
  4. Littering- I feel like I shouldn’t have to mention this one, because people should know by now. Most of the inorganic material that ends up in our ocean makes it way their through our storm drains, and trash off the beach. When a storm comes and washes everything down the drain which leads right out into the ocean. I’m sure you all have seen the turtle video with the straw in his nose, how do you think the straw got there?

This is just the baseline on how you can start to reduce your waste in your life. There is so much more you can do.

I really want to hear your ideas, and some of the things you guys are doing. Drop a comment and share your ideas.

Cheers

A hippy in the modern world ❤

Published by A hippy in the modern world

This is my passion project. I have always been interested in way to reduce, reuse, recycle or compost so that I could leave behind the least amount of waste possible. I have made some cuts in my life but it's not enough. I want to be more of an advocate for this planet. So read along with my journey and help me to help everybody live with the least amount of waste as we can. ideas are always welcome in a respective manner. Cheers

Leave a comment